*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://shop.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/2869755
Printer Friendly Page Tell A Friend
(676)
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Writing.Com · #126963
A warm welcome to our newbies; come meet new and not-so-new members of Writing.Com!
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Aug 31, 2015 at 8:23pm
Re: Much Needed Advice For Nobody
Hello Nobody ,

I'm no expert by any means, but I'll try to help. *Smile*

1. The simple (and hard) answer is to write! The more you write, the better you get at it and the easier it is. Akin to that is to READ! Read things you like, read things you don't, read other people's work here on WDC and published work elsewhere, and read books or blogs about writing. Of course, there are also workshops and classes you could take as well, either online or in traditional schools or at writing conventions. You might even look locally for small writers groups that meet regularly to discuss writing.

Interestingly, I've also found I've increased by skip through writing detailed reviews. Reviewing in a way that is both supportive and honest requires me to make sure I'm writing what I'm thinking, am concise, and focusing on the important parts. Reading other people's works that are MUCH better than mine has taught me a lot, and I've learned so much through giving suggestions for areas of improvement. I also have done a lot of research on punctuation and grammar - if I want to help someone, I'd better know that what I'm saying is correct, right? Ha!