Rated: GC · Message Forum · Community · #2146092
A support forum for writers dealing with mental illness
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Feb 4, 2018 at 10:07pm
My Intro
It's a long one, sorry. I tend to ramble on and on... *Laugh* *Blush*

Hiya everyone! I’m Kit. *Smile*

I was born and raised in The Netherlands, but I have lived in the UK for quite a few years now. I’m a student, currently in my first year of my MA in Philosophy.

In some ways, I have always known that there was something going on with me. You can sense it, can’t you? You don’t really fit in. You question why others appear to experience the world differently than you do. In high school, for example, my friends were all into boys and fashion and make-up and all those things that seem to happen to teenage girls... and I didn’t get any of it. Not really. Eventually I did get into guys, but I still have zero fashion sense, have no interest in shoes or handbags or make-up and my hair is usually a mess that curls in all the wrong directions. I still have plush toys (lots of them), I like cute stuff and I am regularly told that I seem so innocent and childlike. That also means that I often get patronised.

It’s only a few years ago that I was diagnosed with Autism. Now, I know that Autism isn’t a mental illness. It’s a neurological disorder. I have too many connections between some parts of my brain and too few between others.

It’s recently been discovered that my mental development is slower than it normally would be. So yeah, parts of me are still childlike. For now, it’s put down as being due to brain damage that I have experienced.

During my Autism assessment, it was discovered that I have Chromesthesia. It’s a type of Synesthesia – I see colours when I hear sounds. That was a revelation – as I have grown up with it I never actually realised that most other people don’t experience sound that way.