SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://shop.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/3166839
Rated: GC · Message Forum · Community · #2146092
A support forum for writers dealing with mental illness
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Feb 25, 2018 at 8:05am
Re: ToTW 18th - 25th of February
My major issue is that public policy tends to go overboard. One example is mandatory sentencing for crimes; this ties a judge's hands when it comes to weighing individual circumstances. Another example is marijuana. When it was outlawed, the policy makers outlawed all forms of marijuana when in reality a very few varieties (perhaps one or two) are of any use as a recreational drug. Hemp is now making a comeback for use in fabrics, soaps, and other things, but that took a long time.

My concern with mental health is there are plenty of mental disorders that don't necessarily make a person a danger to themselves or others. I suffer from a couple of anxiety disorders, and related to it, some depression. This doesn't make me suicidal or homicidal. When someone makes a blanket statement about keeping guns away from the mentally ill, it shows a lack of understanding of just how broad the definition of mental illness can be.

I haven't been hunting in years, but occasionally I like to go to a gun range and shoot at paper targets or go to a range and do some skeet shooting. That's really the only interest I have in guns at this point, but I still don't like to be lumped together with people who have totally lost it.